A vibrant pastoral history, rich volcanic soils and philanthropic benefactors have left a legacy of cultured street scapes and magnificent historic buildings just north of the coast
Camperdown Courthouse Information & Art
Make sure you visit Camperdown's visitor ambassadors in the heritage listed Camperdown Courthouse building in Manifold Street. Pick up maps and information and perhaps even stand in the witness box.
Alan Marshall Discovery Trail
Invoke, warm nostalgia and a flood of schoolyard memories on the Alan Marshall Discovery Trail. Visitors can immerse themselves in the settings that form the rich period landscape of Marshall’s 1955 novel “I Can Jump Puddles.” Take a walk up Mount Noorat and explore sites in the district pertinent to Marshall’s formative years.
Visitors, wedding guests, conference delegates are welcomed to explore this elegant homestead and follow in the footsteps of His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales (later King Edward Vlll).
Dry Stone Walls
The dry stone walls are an integral part of our inland landscapes providing a direct link to the Anglo-Celtic settlers of the 19th Century. The walls worked with the landscape fulfilling the dual purpose of clearing paddocks and creating aesthetic and effective rabbit proof fencing. Pick up a brochure to enjoy the trail at a local visitor information centre.
Heytesbury and District Historical Society (Port Campbell)
Tended by a bustling bevy of local characters, the historical society hall displays images, artifacts and stories from our maritime past and narrates the colorful near history of the Heytesbury settlement scheme. Purchase local arts and crafts and have a chat with a piece of history!
Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday & Sunday: 12pm – 4pm (7 days a week over summer)
Camperdown Heritage Car Tour
The delightful period architecture and well preserved buildings of Camperdown come to life on this well presented tour. The accompanying brochure brings to life a prosperous and industrious town full to the brim with colorful characters. Enjoy the tour on foot or drive from point to point.
Camperdown and District Heritage Centre
Visit the Camperdown and District Heritage Centre in Manifold Street. You will find family and local history information and guided tours of Camperdown and district.
Tuesdays: 10am - 3pm
First Sunday of each month: 10am – 3pm
Address: 241 Manifold Street, Camperdown
Phone: +61 487 261 048
Timboon Trestle Bridge
The heritage listed 1891 Timboon Trestle Bridge is accessible via road and via the Coast to Crater trail. The bridge provided a vital link via standard gauge to Camperdown and Melbourne. Nowadays visitors can enjoy a picnic in a picturesque valley formed by the Curdies River.
Forever tied up with the story of the Loch Ard the historic Glenample Homestead is currently closed to visitors.
In June 1878, Glenample Homestead and owners Hugh and Lavinia Gibson came to national attention through a significant association with the Loch Ard disaster and the subsequent sheltering of the survivors, direction of salvage operations, and burial of the dead. The Loch Ard was a three-masted square rigged iron sailing ship which left England bound for Melbourne on the 2nd March 1878 under the command of twenty nine year old Captain Gibbs. At 3am on the 1st June 1878, Captain Gibbs was expecting to see land or the Cape Otway lighthouse but fog obscured his view. When the fog lifted, Gibbs was alarmed to find his ship much closer to shore than expected. Despite his best efforts the Loch Ard struck a rocky reef at the base of Mutton-bird Island and the ship was wrecked. Of the 54 crew and passengers on board, only two survived, Tom Pearce, an apprentice crewman, and a young woman passenger, Eva Carmichael who lost all her family in the tragedy. Pearce survived by clinging to a capsized lifeboat before eventually swimming into the gorge which now bears the name of the ill-fated ship. Eighteen year old Eva Carmichael spent five hours in the water until she too was swept into the gorge. Tom Pearce rescued the exhausted girl from a reef and brought her to a cave onshore. A few hours later Tom Pearce scaled a cliff in search of help and came by chance upon two men from the Gibson’s Glenample Homestead. Pearce returned to the gorge while the two men rode back to the station to get help. Tom Pearce and Eva Carmichael were taken to the station to recover. Eva stayed at Glenample for six weeks before returning to Ireland. The bodies of Eva Carmichael’s young brother and sister Evory and Raby Carmichael were recovered and buried in a cemetery near the head of the gorge. Tom Pearce went to Melbourne where he was presented with the first gold medal of the Royal Humane Society of Victoria and a £1,000 cheque from the Victorian Government.
For more information about any of the historical sites, contact the Port Campbell Visitor Information Centre